Welcome to the Rural Clinical School at UNSW Medicine.

Funded by the Commonwealth Department of Health, the UNSW Rural Clinical School was established in January 2000 with campuses in Albury Wodonga and Wagga Wagga. In February 2001, additional funding established campuses at Coffs Harbour and Port Macquarie.

The UNSW Rural Clinical School is fully committed to leading the rural education of medical students in Australia.


The mission of the Rural Clinical School is to educate students to become doctors who will choose to practise in rural Australia.

It does this by:

  • conducting the undergraduate clinical medical program for long-stay students placed in campuses located in rural areas
  • providing short term rural placements for all other medical students not in long-stay placements
  • recruiting and supporting medical students from rural and remote locations
  • recruiting and supporting medical students from Indigenous communities
  • promoting the practice of medicine in rural Australia
  • undertaking research into rural health and rural medical education