Short Term Placements

Short term rural placements

All DEEWR (non - International) supported medical students at UNSW have the opportunity to undertake a 4 weeks of a rural clinical placement.

Students complete the 4 week rural placement in Phase 3. Generally the majority of students are allocated their placement in Year 5. Students who complete their rural placement in Year 6 will be allocated during TP1 or TP2 of that year.

Allocation process

All students will be given the opportunity to indicate preferences for the allocation of their 4 week rural term when they complete the EoI preferences form through the Medical Education Student Office (MESO). The allocations process occurs approximately in August or September the year preceding Phase 3.

As there are limited places in specific terms at each rural site, students may not receive their first preference. MESO allocates the sequence of terms and the RCS fills each rural placement according to this sequence.

The GP Department in the School of Public Health and Community Medicine allocates students to rural GP practices. For more information please contact Sarah Jacobs

The following terms are offered for the 4 week rural placement:

  • Primary Care
  • Medicine
  • Surgery
  • Psychiatry
  • Children’s Health
  • Women’s Health
  • Emergency Medicine

The rural clinical sites used by UNSW Medicine in its teaching for a 4 week rural placement are listed below:

  • Griffith Base Hospital, Griffith
  • Kempsey District Hospital, Kempsey
  • Grafton Base Hospital, Grafton
  • Broken Hill Hospital, Broken Hill
  • Bloomfield Hospital, Orange (Psychiatry term only)
  • Wagga Wagga Base Hospital, Wagga Wagga

Elective term for Rural Placement

A limited number of students who have not been allocated their 4 week rural placement for year 5 may be able to complete their rural placement during their elective term in Year 6. The Elective must be undertaken in one of the following Rural Clinical School sites:

  • Albury Base Hospital
  • Broken Hill Base Hospital
  • Coffs Harbour Health Campus
  • Grafton Base Hospital
  • Griffith Base Hospital
  • Kempsey District Hospital
  • Orange - Bloomfield Hospital (Psychiatry term only)
  • Port Macquarie Base Hospital
  • Wagga Wagga Base Hospital

If you wish to do this, you must gain prior written approval from the Rural Clinical School -, ph (02) 6580 7536. Approval is not automatic. Retrospective approval will not be granted.

After you have gained approval you will need to make your own arrangements with the Hospital. Once confirmed send the following information to Rural Clinical School -, ph (02) 6580 7536 before making any travel plans.

  • Name of the Supervisor at the Clinical site
  • The discipline of the term
  • The dates of the placement
  • The location of the placement

Applications for all electives must be submitted to the Medical Education and Student Office by May the year preceding the proposed term as per MESO guidelines.

Early application is recommended (preferably at the end of Year 5 when rural allocations are advised) as applications will be considered in order of receipt and a quota applies.

Note: Accommodation at a location on the coast will be particularly expensive during the placement period due to the school holidays. 

Accommodation and Travel

Wherever possible, students stay at accommodation provided by the hospital. Charges vary from hospital to hospital but are usually less than $80 per week.